Sato Leads Honda Qualifiers at Gateway
  • Indianapolis 500 champion Takuma Sato will start sixth in final oval race of 2017
  • Championship contender Scott Dixon starts seventh
  • Saturday night contest starts at 9 p.m. EDT


Indianapolis 500 champion Takuma Sato led Honda qualifiers Friday as the Verizon IndyCar Series returned to Gateway Motorsports Park, and will start Saturday night’s final oval race of the season from sixth.

Scott Dixon, currently second in the Drivers’ Championship and in search of his second victory of the season, will start his Chip Ganassi Racing Honda from seventh.  Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi and James Hinchcliffe, driving for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, rounded out the top 10 qualifiers for Honda and will start ninth and 10th, respectively.

Television coverage of Saturday night’s 248-lap race, the final oval event of 2017, starts at 9 p.m. EDT on the NBC Sports Network.

Takuma Sato (Andretti Autosport Honda) Indianapolis 500 winner, qualified sixth today: “This is a high-commitment racetrack.  In terms of top speed, here is a lot slower than at Pocono [where the series raced last week], of course, but in terms of commitment it really helps the driver at the same time. The track got better and better as the sun set and it cooled, but I think we should be happy under the circumstances with sixth and being the top Honda.”

Bommarito Automotive Group 500K 
Circuit: Gateway Motorsports Park  (1.25-mile oval) Madison, IL
2016 Winner: N/A first Indy car race here since 2003
Weather: Sunny, warm, 80 degrees F

Top-10 Qualifying Results:

Ps. Driver       Team Manufacturer Speed mph Notes
  1. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet 189.642
  2. Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet 188.316
  3. Helio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet 187.457
  4. Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Chevrolet 186.747
  5. Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 184.528
  6. Takuma Sato Andretti Autosport Honda 184.186
  7. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 183.848
  8. Carlos Munoz A.J. Foyt Racing Chevrolet 183.620
  9. Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Honda 183.578
10. James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda 183.528

Other Honda Results

12. Ed Jones-R Dale Coyne Racing                 Honda 182.900
13. Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 182.830
14. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda 182.529
16. Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 182.271
17. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 182.195
18. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 182.137
19. Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing                 Honda 181.846
20. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda 181.191
21. Sebastian Saavedra Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda 177.700
News Reporter